Tuesday, September 24, 2019

Let's Talk About The Staff / Chapters: Give Me a Break

Chapters are funny things when you are a writer. During the editing process of writing The Staff, the connections and relationships between chapters was an evolving thought. I started with writing numbers. However, during editing the numbers were so jumbled and disconnected I didn't even see them there. I progressed to replacing numbers with lines or breaks. It started with a centered line, then a series of asterisk and eventually a mix of different versions. Finally, during the last few revisions, I took out all chapter breaks, lines, and anything that resembled a specific stop. Then I replaced it with a double space and left it. 

Friday, September 13, 2019

Pride of Eden by Taylor Brown / Book Review

What happens when environmental activism and the passion of a group of outsiders come together? Taylor Brown explores this idea in his book Pride of Eden, as we move closer and closer to the cataclysm that is our natural disaster. It is clear that not only is this a political and social issue, but is now finding its way into fiction. And no one is better suited to take on this task then Taylor Brown and his visionary style that merges melodious prose with the stark reality of our natural calamity. This novel examines the extremes of protecting apex predators and the people who live on the edge to save them. Wrought in stunning vision of the natural world and the tainted reality that has oppressed the great animals that are now prey to poachers, land development, the black market, and hunting fanatics. 

Friday, September 6, 2019

New London Public Library


Thank you all for the great evening of creative discussion. 


Join me at the New London Public Library 
for an Author Talk

Join us at the Public Library of New London for a discussion about the art of keeping a writing journal and the creation of the award winning novel The Staff.

63 Huntington Street, New London, Connecticut 06320


Monday, September 2, 2019

Let's Talk About The Staff: Jumping Boy

This post may contain spoilers. 

The Jumping Boy is a unique and probably the most memorable character in the novel The Staff. The Jumping Boy plays a strange and often comforting role in the novel. He first appears around the church when a meeting happens, and while it explained that the Jumping Boy was always around, it was never clear which family he came from. He is just a runt. This shows that even in a small village, there is a sense of casting out things that people don't want. And the child lives feral. In this small hamlet it is better to not claim this daft young man than embarrass a family name. 

Tuesday, August 27, 2019

Let's Talk About The Staff / Lucifer's Wing

In a lot of my writing, I am captured by living close to the ocean, traditions, and the essences of living on the edge of the world. I don't live on the edge of the world, but I do live near the sea, so the wind, the waves, the fog, the atmosphere of my life falls into the writing easily. 

Thursday, August 22, 2019

Hollihock Notes For August 24, 2019 Presentation

It was nice meeting all the creative writers at the conference this weekend and I feel luck to share ideas and work around so many thoughtful people. 

These are some resources from the presentation Hollihock Writers Conference 2019. 

Clickable Links Here:



If you would like to reach out and say hello or you have some writing that was based on the concepts in the presentation, I would love to hear from you --  ronsamulwriter@gmail.com 




Thursday, August 8, 2019

How to Get the Most Out of A Writers Conference

Check out my quick guide to attending a writers conference. If you are serious about writing, then you will be serious about attending. Use these skills at Hollihock Writers Conference 2019 or at your next event.

Writing conferences bring together like-minded, creative people who are seeking inspiration, education, and community. While all these readings, workshops, presentations, and social events may be exciting, don’t forget that what you put into your experience here is what you’ll get out of it. Here are some things to think about when you attend - Read More


Saturday, August 3, 2019

Reading List / What Inspires

Haruki Murakami said "If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking." He makes an interesting point. So, simple advice would be wander away from the books everyone is reading and try something different. But it comes with a catch - you might have to work harder to understand the books and the ideas. It is okay to not understand a book or an idea. Research it, try to understand why you don't get it. And make that a project. I know that seems like a lot of effort for a summer beach read, but the challenge comes with critical reading skills, the ability to not give up when it gets hard, and you will feel like new ideas and visions of the world are shifting. That is a good thing. 


Friday, July 19, 2019

Writer's Journals Change the Way You Write

New Writing for the Hollihock Writer's Conference 
"Your writing journal is a record of your thought process through time. It will evolve as the months and years pass, and it will become a powerful tool. Not only can you think and process your ability on the page, you can also see the history and the arc of ideas as they develop. It can be very powerful to see where you’ve been and realize where you are all at once." - Read More Click Here 

https://www.hollihock.org/single-post/2019/07/19/What-is-a-Writers-Journal

Wednesday, June 12, 2019

The Staff / Finalist in the 2019 International Book Awards


The Staff, a novel by author Ron Samul, is now an Award-Winning Finalist in the General Fiction Category of the 2019 International Book Awards. Jeffrey Keen, President and CEO of American Book Fest, said this year's contest yielded over 2,000 entries from authors and publishers around the world, which were then narrowed to the final results. Awards were presented for titles published in 2017, 2018, 2019. 

Thursday, May 16, 2019

A Privilege

In my previous post about creating Misfit Manifestos in class, it occurred to me that over the course of the semester, I give a lot of writing assignments. Not all of them are a lengthy research paper, but they are intentionally designed for the continuous practice of writing. It is important in my class to understand that writing is a practiced skill and they should be writing often. 

Yet, as I was writing about their experience with the Misfit Manifestos, it occurred to me that sometimes, students connect with assignments in a way that opens their ideas, and changes the way they see their own lives. The point being is that through a variety of writing opportunities, it is very hard to tell which assignments are going to connect with the students in the classroom. But what comes with experience: is knowing that something will connect with the students.  



Friday, May 10, 2019

Literature is Filled with Misfits


I work with college students, more specifically, emerging college students, so they are constantly on the cusp of things that are coming to them. We develop skills, we tell them that they need to improve just to cut it in college. We also tell them about what it means to have a traditional college experience. In reality, a traditional college experience is a myth. We aren't going to live in some kind of strange 1950's vision of academics. 

Our emerging students are not traditional at all. They have had to fight, push, and work much harder than the people around them. In fact, in most cases the students are satisfied just blending in, just being around a higher education experience. They can be self-defeating, battered, wounded learners. 


Thursday, May 2, 2019

Diving Essay Series Available on Channillo

Like most writers, writing comes in fits and starts. I've been inspired to collect and continue writing based on my interactions with the ocean. This series includes my time as a technical diver, visions of ecology, exploring life in and around the water. This series includes understanding fear, diving in an underwater storm, and celebrating the guy who swam in the suit as the Creature from the Black Lagoon.

I've chosen Channillo to create this writing. It can be accessed via a free trial and subscription. It is an interesting model of reading and exploring. The goal is to develop this collection and eventually move to a collection worthy of formal publication.


Monday, April 8, 2019

In the Oven / Fictional Story via Technology



I teach a Digital Ethics and Citizenship course and some of the things we talk about is the automation of apps and the story they tell us even is it is merely to keep us busy. Tracking pizza is one of the apps we discuss. This came about as a writing piece but then with a little thought and time, I was able to move it into a visual format. While I like that I wrote it out first -- the visuals add something to the story. The timer, the tracking bar, they all move the story along. The images and the collective look was fun to make and think about. Typically, I use words, but it was nice to enhance the story by way of graphics and design. It is fun to watch the tracker move to the green, when the whole thing goes sideways.


Saturday, February 23, 2019

The Staff Now On Sale / Amazon / Paperback & E-book


PRINT BOOK AVAILABLE NOW  through Amazon.com
In a remote fishing village, a well-known member of the village is murdered, and the suspect is caught and beaten. When he wakes up he can’t recall who he is or what he has done. The village council decides to invoke an age-old ritual that condemns the killer and a villager together for life. Taska Valimar is selected to be the warden to the killer in this draconian social contract. Scorned by her life of servitude, Taska begins to unravel the secrets of her missing family. What she finds begins a spiral of deceit and revenge. In the midst of the darkest hours, Taska searches for friendship, hope, and a way out. The Staff is a timeless tale of lies, treachery, and hope.

“In the tradition of Orwell and Huxley and Dostoevsky, Ron Samul has imagined a world in stunning detail where justice and human dignity are casualties of the fears that inhabit us. It is a terrifying world that exists beyond our reference points and yet it feels oddly familiar because the people we come to meet there, though strangers to us, give us an unexpected glimpse of ourselves.” - Don J. Snyder author of Of Time and Memory and Fallen Angel.

"A novel with the rarefied atmosphere of ancestral myth, The Staff unfolds in a time and place that feels ancient and simultaneously apart from history: a northern seaside village where the air holds the electric charge of prophetic meaning. Samul has written a dark, tension-filled allegory of crime, punishment, and transcendence that will appeal to fans of Hawthorne, Kafka, and Shirley Jackson." - Tim Weed author of Will Poole’s Island and A Field Guide to Murder and Fly Fishing.

“An intriguing, skillfully constructed plot about the darker side of human nature.” The Book Life Prize.
Available through Amazon.com




Ron Samul is a writer and college educator at Mitchell College. He is a writing mentor in the Western Connecticut State University Masters in Creative and Professional Writing program. He has worked as a journalist, literary magazine editor and publisher, and book reviewer. His articles and stories have appeared in the SN ReviewLibrary Journal, Liturgical Credo, Inside Out Magazine, Inquiring News Hartford, and on other print/electronic media. He is the winner of the Connecticut AWP Fiction Award in 2005 for his short story Paper ThinThe Staff was shortlisted for the 2017 Del Sol Press Friest Novel Prize. Print and Kindle copies of the book release through Amazon.com on March 15, 2017.